La Pascualita, the corpse bride.

Hello you wonderful people! I’m so sorry for the lack of posts but this month I started a forensic science course that is keeping me busy. Not that I complain! This course is absolutely amazing and this week I’ve learned a lot about decomposing bodies, putrefaction, bones and blood. How cool does it sound? Speaking of decomposing bodies I’m going to talk to you about an interesting story that I’ve heard of a couple of months ago. Don’t worry it won’t be a gruesome story.

La Pascualita or Little Pascuala is a bridal mannequin that has “lived” in a bridal gown shop window in Chihuahua, Mexico for the past 75 years. It is believed that, according to legend, the mannequin is not really a model at all, but the perfectly preserved corpse of the previous owner’s daughter who had died on her wedding day after being bitten by a black widow spider.

Pascuala secretly took the body of the beloved daughter away from the authorities,  had her embalmed, and then brought the body to her  shop  where is used as a mannequin since March 25, 1930.

I think it might be pretty impossible to preserve a body, even if embalmed, in those perfect conditions, but, hey who am I to say otherwise? A lot of people said that her eyes follow them around the store or that she changes postion during the night. Sonia Burciaga, who’s in charge to change the dummy’s outfits twice a week, says: “Every time I go near Pascualita my hands break out in a sweat. Her hands are very realistic and she even has varicose veins on her legs. I believe she’s a real person.”

Well, my lovely readers, what do you think? Have you ever heard about this story before? I’d love to know your thoughts!

Elle. xx

One thought on “La Pascualita, the corpse bride.

Leave a comment